JAWW (beta)

The ward is a factory for the Combine

dotPost: Offline Desktop Blog Publishing Client

UPDATE:

considering hits stats to this page and a fact that Mike’s site is down for a while

(UPDATE2: now it seems for good), looks like some folks are looking for the dotPost download (below).


dotPost is a very promising standalone desktop weblog posting editor developed by Michael Leung (now supposedly at: bloggingmyassoff.com, former: www.blamemike.com). this application runs under MS .NET Framework (v1.1SP1 tested) and supports all major blogging CMS XML-RPC API’s such as: .Text, Atom, Blogger, DasBlog, EraBlog.NET, Friendster, MetaWeblog, MovableType, TypePad, WordPress. Mike has enabled dotPost with a nice, simple but well designed (read: deep thought) lean and mean UI, similar to interface used in MS developer’s applications which are known of their perfect usability:

on the screenshot you can see docked Recent Posts window (which can be floated as well), multi-tabbed WYSIWYG rich text formatting post editor. each Post tab has a three-pane structure (what is already has become a standard for such sort of apps):

  • Design: WYSIWYG rich text formatting post editor
  • Source: raw HTML editor (syntax highlighted)
  • Details: allows edit tags and Date/Time post attributes

other features include (but not limited to ;-):

  • Spell Checker
  • Offline Drafts
  • Multiple Blog Accounts
  • Smileys
  • Automatic Upload of Local Images

to the moment of this posting the project currently is in development stage (v0.6beta), and while it throws unhandled exceptions sometimes and yet lack some cool a must features, it is already fairy usable (this post has been edited in DotPost as one can see).

as far as I could understand from the initial author’s post related this project, Mike would “greatly appreciate any feedback” and bug reports from beta-testers, so don’t hesitate — it is well may become a killer app like commercial Post2Blog and BlogJet!



Download

here it is, the last beta I happen to grab when the site was up:

11 responses to “dotPost: Offline Desktop Blog Publishing Client

  1. blameMike January 16, 2006 at 16:07

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I plan to strive to make DotPost a better application, while continuing to keep it free.

    M.

  2. David Gamboa June 24, 2006 at 18:12

    I like very much what you have done so far, but still have some questions. I have 2 blogs in the same account @ blogger, but it shows just one, also cant use smileys because images are not displayed.

    Is there a way to upload images to a blogspot account??

    Keep up the good work.

  3. options June 24, 2006 at 23:41

    hello David!

    sorry, I’m not a Dotpost’s developer (I just happened to made a small write up) — it’s all Michael Leung’s but his blog just disappeared suddenly.

    alas, I haven’t had a chance to test it with Blogger yet.

    best regards

  4. Pingback: despuesdegoogle » Archivo del weblog » Un editor de blogs que sea libre

  5. djpaddy September 30, 2006 at 14:35

    Hi.

    It won’t run on my XP SP2 Pro machine with an AMD Sempron at all.

    Throws up an exception with an ok and cancel button. It says it can’t handle the exception. This is immediately after it’s been installed. looked a really handy tool.

  6. Alex January 17, 2007 at 23:57

    Hi, I am looking for a blogging client, all the ones I tried so far are not exactly what I need. I found dotPost, downloaded it, and it throws an exception the moment I start it.

    I’m willing to play with it more, is a fresh beta available? Or maybe you could share the code and let others take a look at it?

  7. Michael Leung January 19, 2007 at 20:37

    Hey guys, I’m the creator of DotPost. I actually haven’t worked on it in a good while.

    What’s the error you’re getting?

  8. Chris January 19, 2007 at 20:50

    So, here I am trying out this program and I have my wordpress setup at http://www.chrismatthias.com/ at the root. So i created an account in DotPost with those settings and for the path to the RPC i put “/xmlrpc.php” and it doesn’t work. I dunno, but if I browse to http://www.chrismatthias.com/xmlrpc.php i get a response saying “XML-RPC server accepts POST requests only.” so its not like my .htaccess is throwing it off. Any clue? I actually asked the developer Mike(who is my colleague and while his blog has moved, he has not disappeared) and he cannot see why its doing it… he said he’s never tested it on wordpress. Little help? This looks like a great program and I’d love for it to work with my blog. But if the developer doesn’t know.. maybe someone out there got it to work. Maybe it doesn’t like it in the root? I see you are hosting at wordpress.com… I wonder if anyones had success with their own hosted wordpress.

  9. Pingback: Blogging Resources « Weird Musings of an erstwhile techie

  10. Pingback: » Le migliori Piattaforme ed i migliori Client Desktop gratuiti per il Blogging Geekissimo

  11. Pingback: Weblog klienter | Bojko.dk

