JAWW (beta)

The ward is a factory for the Combine

QuickTags questions

recently I was asked about so called QuickTags buttons which serve as basic aids to quickly and easily format some text in your post.

normally, WP.com users can’t see them unless they turned off the ‘Rich Text Editor’ (TinyMCE) or a browser in use does not yet support specific extensions used by the TinyMCE. in such cases WP degrades itself gracefully down to the QuickTags automatically.

How to learn what the abbreviations for the various abbreviated options I can see above the text editing box stand for?

Thus far I have figured out that the b stands for bold and the i stands for italics and I know how to use the ‘link‘ but I haven’t a clue what the other abbreviations mean or how to use them.

Is there a diagram and instructions somewhere that I have yet to find?

yes, there is a detailed explanation of the Quicktags and their functions on the Codex (WordPress manual wiki) page: http://codex.wordpress.org/Write_Post_SubPanel#Quicktags

Is there also such a thing as a list of basic html code that can be used in WP and what it is used for?

this question has already been put in the support forums thread titled ‘HTML documentation?‘, so let’s wait for the authoritative answer.

having said that, frankly, I can’t see the reason why anyone who use a Mozilla Firefox (SeaMonkey, Camino, Netscape etc) or MS Internet Explorer browsers would want to switch off a ‘Rich Text Editor’ – it works fairly well with browsers mentioned and, what’s most important, fits just perfectly into WP.com paradigm stated in the FAQ:

«…we don’t want people to have to look at HTML and CSS code, which is antithetical to the purpose of WordPress.com»

albeit, TinyMCE’s interface is pretty intuitive it has its own help page.

UPDATE: see also: Allowed HTML tags FAQ page.

5 responses to “QuickTags questions

  1. timethief June 8, 2006 at 17:19

    I associate the words “tag, tags, and tagging” with assigning categories and subjects as in technorati tags. No wonder I never twigged to reading “Quicktags” in the codex. Moreover as they are recessed and not projecting I never related to them as “buttons” either. I simply did not associate the jargon with the little option boxes I was looking at. Ha, Ha [she said clapping her hands and smiling]- but I have now printed out the quicktags documentation key so I can put it in a clear plastic sleeve and refer to it over and over until I have memorized it.

    I completely missed the entry on the forum about html documentation. This surprises me as I do make it a policy to read everything posted on the every day but no one is perfect. I’ll try to be more vigilant about watching the forum. I will wait as you suggest for the authorative answer on the html documentation.

    You have said: “having said that, frankly, I can’t see the reason why anyone who use a Mozilla Firefox (SeaMonkey, Camino, Netscape etc) or MS Internet Explorer browsers would want to switch off a ‘Rich Text Editor’”

    But turning off the text rich editor was not a decision I made based on browsers at all. You see I write almost everything off-line in MS Word. Then I cut and paste my text written in MS Word it into the textbox. I’m assuming this non text rich editor I am using is called “TinyMCE” so please correct me if I’m wrong. It seemed more sensible to me as I didn’t know a single word or character of “code” to proceed in this fashion.

    But Ha, ha, I now have the key to the code used in the text rich editor so after some practice I should be able to use it [she aid clapping her hands with glee]. Although I’m here to say that I do prefer to compose what I’m writing off-line. This is because I’m picky and prefectionistic so I re-write and edit everything several times before I actually have a finished product that I’m ready to take to the editor.

    I really appreciate your help. I appreciate everyone’s help. I’m only self taught when it comes to using my computer and I have no one to ask questions of and to get answers from.

    thanks again – you’ve gievn me something to smile about – Ha, ha, I have the key!

    tt :D

    p.S. You do have my permission to post this as a comment. Who knows there could be some other newbie I mean proto-blogger out there also wandering around in the dark looking for a “key” as opposed to “quicktags”.

  2. fnarf June 16, 2006 at 18:31

    Unfortunately, some of us have to look at the HTML anyways, since we need to enter substantial amounts of our text with the pre and br tags, to get single-spacing. Pressing Enter automatically assigns a p tag, which is fine for most things but not for much of what I do.

    I’m sure there’s a better way to do what I want to do but I’m not smart enough to figure it out. I do know that if I had access to the CSS I could make my right-most column wider, which would make me very very happy.

  3. georgann September 26, 2006 at 19:16

    Timethief says, “I associate the words “tag, tags, and tagging” with assigning categories and subjects as in technorati tags.” Me, too! Is there a way to add to the tag/keyword/keyword phrases as I go along developing the blog? Can someone please direct me to the proper place to learn how to do this? TIA

  4. webmaster December 9, 2006 at 08:00

    I want to add some HTML text from Amazon to link to a recommended book using their associates program.

    WP won’t display it. Help?

  5. options December 9, 2006 at 13:48

    hello webmaster,

    I’m afraid I can’t help you with this particular issue: unless you’re running a VIP blog, any ads (including links to affiliate programs as I beleive) are not permitted here currently.

    see also:
    http://faq.wordpress.com/2005/12/08/adsense
    http://wordpress.com/forums/search.php?q=amazon

